​​​Seong Ae Kim is a Korean-born composer, dancer, and theologian based in New York City.
Her most recent works include #MeToo for bass clarinet and percussion commissioned and premiered by Ensemble Mise-en members Josh Perry and Vasko Dukovski. Also, Sound of Soundless for solo violin and string ensemble commissioned and premiered by violinist Eunmoo Heo and Ensemble PAN received its premiere at Seoul Arts Center in Korea. Sound of soundless was dedicated to the victims of the Sewol ferry tragedy in Korea. 


One of her recent pieces include Garak commissioned by the Multicultural Sonic Evolution and premiered by theKrechkovsky-Loucks Duo at Merkin Hall in New York City.   Also, AE Do for oboe and percussion, commissioned and premiered by Iktus Percussion in New York was featured at International Double Reed Society 2015 in Tokyo, Japan. AE Do is published in February 2017 by the percussion studio, LLC.

Her music was also recently featured at the 10th WCC General Assembly in Korea, showcasing a unique style of contemporary classical music blended with traditional Korean music and dance influences. 

​Kim’s works have been performed throughout the United States, Europe, Japan and Korea by many contemporary ensembles and soloists including the Köhne Quartet, Pro Arte Orchestra, and B3M Chamber Ensemble, Rath Duo among others.

With interests in Korean folk  music and dance, Kim recently performed as a member of the Korean Traditional Performing Arts Association at Symphony Space in New York City and at the Nanying International Folklore Festival in Taiwan. ​ 

She is the winner of the George R. Crooks Prize, also the recipient of ​ the Dorr Diefendorf Award, and the Fellowship Award from UMC. 

She holds a PhD in music composition from Stony Brook University, Mdiv from Drew University,and an MA and BA in both composition and conducting from University for music and performing arts in Vienna, Austria (Einstimmige Auszeichnung- unanimous distinction). 

Her composition teachers include Erich Urbanner, Daniel Weymouth, Perry Goldstein, and Ivan Eröd. Also her conducting teachers include Leopold Hager, Yuji Yuasa, and Günther Theuring.